Cases:velcom

velcom - World’s First Complete Range of Virtualized Core Network

Innovative Telecommunications Operator - velcom

Belarus is an important country in the CIS. In recent years, the telecommunications industry of Belarus has developed well, with a total of 13.6 million mobile users and a penetration rate of 143%. According to Ovum's prediction, the number of mobile users will keep increasing in the next five years. As the second largest branch of TAG, velcom is one of the three mainstream mobile operators in Belarus, with a market share higher than 40% and about 5 million mobile users.

With the growing demand for data communication and multimedia services, 4G services have risen in Belarus and operators have enabled 4G service development plans. As the first deployment and development of 4G services is of great significance for future market share improvement, velcom has begun to consider service development strategies: How to deploy EPC services and provide 4G services quickly and inexpensively in 2016? How to enhance velcom's market competitiveness and obtain a dominant position? How to reduce the high cost of equipment upgrade and reconstruction (the current network equipment has operated for a long period of time, and the equipment failure rate has shown a rising trend, so Velcom needs to pay a high cost for equipment upgrade and reconstruction in December 2016)? velcom also observed that the adoption of new technologies (such as NFV combined with the SDN) to promote network transformation is increasingly recognized by operators around the world. The new technologies will not only shorten the service deployment time of operators, but also improve basic resource usage efficiency and help operators reduce the TCO effectively. As a result, velcom who focuses on innovation has started the virtualization strategy practice trip.

TAG is a long-term strategic partner of ZTE in many fields. In the NFV field, velcom and ZTE have conducted in-depth communication about ZTE's focus on NFV, end-to-end virtualization solutions, open development of the ecosystem, the capability of integrating devices from different vendors, and mature commercial use experience. With an excellent understanding capability on demand, rich NFV deployment experience, and leading solution delivery capability, ZTE has won the initial cooperation opportunity with velcom. After communicating on demands several times, ZTE signed a PO with velcom and began to implement delivery plan in April 2016. Having overcome the difficulties of delayed procured hardware arrival and a large number of NEs to be cut over, ZTE took only four months to complete USPP deployment and cutover, indicating that the commercial use of velcom's 4G services had started. In the following three months, ZTE and velcom worked together closely and completed the cutover of vEPC, vIMS and other services with a total of 45 sets of NEs and put them into operation, completing ahead of time the plan developed by velcom: the services shall be all put into operation by the end of 2016.

velcom Built the Most Complete Range of Virtualized Core Network

velcom decided to work with ZTE in this project not only because ZTE's rapid delivery capability can help velcom achieve the commercial use of 4G services ahead of time, but also because ZTE NFV-based full cloud core network solution can help velcom maximize return with the smallest investment.

ZTE cloud core network solution based on the ETSI reference architecture uses open source technologies to achieve software and hardware decoupling and provide carrier-class enhancement. The highly-reliable, easy-to-manage and easy-to-integrate full range of core network solution, which covers 2G, 3G, 4G, and 5G core networks, takes the leading position in the industry. In this project, the solution involves all core network elements such as vEPC/vSDM/vIMS/vCS. The NEs are deployed in three DCs in load sharing mode. The following figure shows the logical architecture of the solution.

    

◆ COTS hardware resource pool

The customer purchases all HP C7000s, which are deployed in three DCs to achieving software and hardware decoupling.

◆ Carrier-class ZTE TECS

Based on open-source OpenStack, the TECS integrates the NFV architecture and implements integrated scheduling and management through a unified interface for computing, storage, and network resources of the three DCs. Through the virtual DC capability, management and operation complexity is reduced, allowing coordination between network-wide resources.

◆ Most Complete Range of vCN

It contains more than 20 vAPP services such as vEPC, vIMS, vSDM, and vCS and 45 sets of NEs, allows the functional modules of different NEs to be combined flexibly based on the sharing of basic DC hardware resources, and meets velcom's requirements for different services and fast EPC service deployment. 

Through the close cooperation with ZTE, velcom successfully built Belarus's first, and even the world's first, complete virtualized core network. This not only helps velcom become the market leader in Belarus, but also plays a demonstration role in global operators.

Project Value

"With this major step towards the next generation network architecture we are able to significantly reduce our OPEX spending, benefit on massive economies of scale for further growth and provide highest flexibility and service value to our customers on the way towards a fully cloud-based network architecture," says Sascha Zabransky, Director Technology, Telekom Austria Group.

ZTE cloud core network solution creates a simpler, more cost-effective, more reliable, and more open core network for velcom, and the solution is compatible with the future-oriented 5G core network architecture to improve customer value:

    

◆ The release efficiency of new products and new services can be greatly improved by 42%.

◆ Multiple DCs share basic resources so that resource use efficiency can be increased twofold.

◆ After technological innovation,TCO saved by more than 50%.

Information

客户案例:velcom

velcom - 业界第一个全套核心网 实现虚拟化

   

勇于创新的电信运营商velcom
白俄罗斯是独联体地区的重要国家,今年白俄罗斯电信业发展良好,移动用户总数达到1360万左右,用户渗透率为143%。根据Ovum预测,在未来5年仍保持增长。velcom作为奥地利电信集团(TAG)的第二大分支,是白俄罗斯的三大主流移动运营商之一,目前市场占有率超过40%,拥有500万左右的移动用户。
随着对数据通信与多媒体业务需求日益增多,4G业务在白俄罗斯兴起,各运营商纷纷启动4G业务的发展计划。由于4G业务的率先部署和发展对提升未来市场份额具有十分重大的意义,velcom开始考虑业务的发展策略:2016年年内如何快速、低成本部署EPC业务和提供4G业务?提升自身的市场竞争力并取得优势地位;现网网络设备运行使用时间较长,设备故障发生率有上升的趋势,需要在2016年12月份支付的高昂费用对设备进行升级改造,如何减轻此费用支出的财务压力?velcom同时观察到:以NFV结合SDN推动网络变革等新技术在全球运营商中越来越得到认可,新技术不但能使运营商业务部署的时间大幅缩短,在基础资源利用效率预期方面也会得到大的提升,有效帮助运营商降低TCO。于是,注重创新的velcom开启了虚拟化战略实践之旅。

 

勇于创新的电信运营商velcom

 

奥地利电信集团(TAG)与中兴通讯是长期的战略合作伙伴,在多个领域展开了广泛的合作,在NFV领域velcom与ZTE进行了深度交流,包括中兴通讯在NFV领域的重点投入、端到端的虚拟化解决方案、生态圈的开放发展、多厂家的集成能力和成熟的商用经验。凭借优秀的需求理解能力,丰富的NFV部署经验和领先的方案交付能力,中兴通讯与velcom 2016年4月签订合同PO并开始执行方案交付,在克服了硬件采购到货晚、割接网元数量多的多重困难下,仅用了4个月完成USPP部署和割接,标志着velcom 4G业务开始商用。在随后的3个月内,中兴通讯与velcom紧密合作,完成全部vEPC和vIMS网元的割接上线(总计45套网元),提前完成velcom制定的2016年年底全部上线的计划。

 

velcom 打造最全虚拟化的核心网

velcom在这个项目中选择与中兴通讯合作,不仅是因为中兴通讯的快速交付能力能帮助velcom提前实现4G业务的商用,也是因为中兴通讯基于NFV的全云化核心网解决方案可以协助velcom以最小的投入实现最大的回报。中兴通讯云化核心网解决方案,基于ETSI参考架构,采用开源技术,实现了软件与硬件解耦,提供电信级增强,高可靠、易管理、易集成的全系列核心网解决方案,涵盖2G/3G/4G/5G 核心网,在业界处于领先地位。在这个项目中,解决方案包含了vEPC/vSDM/vIMS/vCS 等在内的所有核心网网元, 网元分别部署在三个处于负荷分担工作模式的DC里,解决方案逻辑架构如下:

◆ COTS硬件资源池

由客户全部自行采购HP C7000,分别部署在3个DC中,实现硬件与软件的解耦。

◆ 电信级ZTE TECS

以开源的OpenStack为基础,融合NFV架构,通过统一的接口,对3个DC的计算、存储、网络等资源进行集中调度和管理,通过虚拟DC能力,简化了管理和操作的复杂性,使得全网资源协同。

◆ 全套vCN

包含vEPC/vIMS/vSDM/vCS 等 20多套vAPP 业务,45套网元在共享DC基础硬件资源的基础上实现了不同网元实体的子功能模块自由组合,满足了velcom快速部署业务的需要。    

通过与中兴通讯的紧密合作,velcom成功打造白俄罗斯甚至全球首个最全的虚拟化核心网网络,不仅帮助velcom在白俄罗斯的市场竞争中处于领先地位,更为全球运营商网络转型起到了极大的示范作用。 

项目价值

奥地利电信集团技术总监Sascha Zabransky表示:“这一项目的完成是我们迈向下一代网络架构的重要一步,我们的OPEX支出显著降低,同时得益于规模经济的进一步增长。一张完全基于云平台的网络基础架构,可以使我们具备更高的灵活性,为用户提供更好的服务。” 中兴通讯云化核心网整体解决方案,为velcom打造了一个更简单、更高性价比、更可靠、更开放的核心网络,也可兼容面向未来的5G的核心网络架构,全面提升客户价值:

◆ 新产品、新业务的发布效率得到大幅提升, 效率提升了42%

◆ 基础资源多DC共享,资源的使用效率提升了2倍

◆ 技术创新后TCO节省了50%以上

相关资讯